I don’t know whether to blame the unseasonably warm weather and lack of snow, the fact that I haven’t even taken my snowboard off of it’s hook in the garage, or my increasingly busy lifestyle (perhaps all of the above), but I just cannot seem to get myself into the Christmas spirit this year. I procrastinated when it came to putting up decorations and buying gifts, I have slowed my pace tremendously on a project I had planned to finish by Christmas, and I don’t think I’ve uttered the words “Merry Christmas” or “Happy Holidays.”

It’s not that I’m not excited. This is my first Christmas as a married man, and my last before I become Santa (and Daddy, of course) to my little Carter or Chloe. I love the thought of giving and receiving gifts, and of course I love all of the food and having two consecutive days off work and school.

So here we are, a mere 54 hours (and counting) from my very favorite holiday, and I can’t shake the Scrooge-like feelings. I am hoping that when 21:00 rolls around tomorrow and I’ve got the next two days with no real obligations, I’ll be much more in the Christmas spirit. Perhaps I just need to dig out my elf socks and Santa hat.

