The holidays have come to a close, and we’re back to the daily grind. Thankfully, my work schedule is such that after today, I don’t have to work until Thursday. The next two days will be spent doing work around the house, spending time with my beautiful wife, and SNOWBOARDING!!

Tomorrow, I’m going to talk my little brother (who isn’t so little anymore; I think he’s taller than I) into coming over and helping me install my garage door opener. Afterwards, I’d like to finish painting the nursery and spend time relaxing with Danielle. Hopefully Brendan can come over in the evening so we can tune up our snowboards for Wednesday.

I am getting up early on Wednesday and hitting the slopes! I’m so excited, especially since I didn’t think I would be able to afford going this year. Snowboarding, unlike anything else, allows me to clear my mind completely. Even if it’s only for a few brief moments while I’m sliding down the mountain, I am only concentrated on the present and the immediate future. No thoughts of bills, no thoughts of work, no thoughts of school, just me, the board, and the snow.

It probably sounds terribly silly to anyone that has never strapped one of those boards to their feet, but I know my fellow boarders understand. All my stress disappears for a little while. I can’t wait until Baby Low is old enough to learn to ride. Brendan and I will show him or her the ropes, no matter what Mommy and Grandma April think!

